Sign In   |   View Cart   |     |   Help
 
Print Course information
E-mail to a friend
Return to Course Catalog

Workshops > Basic Rider Course (BRC)

BRC-Galesburg  

What is the Basic Rider Course (BRC)?
This 20-hour program includes both classroom and "hands-on" instruction. It is designed to teach the fundamental skills of straight-line riding, shifting, turning, and stopping, then works toward developing more complex street skills including essential braking, turning and swerving techniques. It also focuses on developing good mental strategies and managing special situations. The motorcycles, helmets, and textbooks are provided for each student's use.

Who is eligible to enroll in the BRC?
Illinois residents who are at least 16 years of age (on the first day of their course) are eligible to enroll if they have a valid driver's license or instruction permit. The ability to balance and ride a bicycle is expected. Persons under 18 years of age must bring a parent or guardian to sign a participation waiver 20 minutes prior to the class starting time.

Required Motorcycle Gear
Students must bring the following required gear to the first meeting; a long-sleeved shirt or jacket, long pants (heavy material with straight legs), sturdy over-the-ankle footwear (not cloth or canvas), full-fingered gloves and eye protection (glasses, goggles or face shield).

Licensing
Upon successful completion of the Basic Rider Course, a completion card will be issued that will allow the Illinois Secretary of State driver's license examiner to waive the written and the riding portion of the motorcycle license test for all graduates who are 18 years of age or older. Persons who are 16 or 17 years of age must complete this course and take the Secretary of State's written and riding tests to be eligible for a class "M" motorcycle endorsement.

Questions? Check our FAQ

Class Location
Carl Sandburg College
2400 Tom L. Wilson Blvd.
Galesburg, IL 61401

Park in Lot C. Meet in classroom C209

Click here for directions.

 

BRC-Galesburg   Registrations are no longer being accepted for this section.

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.

 
Item: MOTORBRC286105  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, April 26 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, April 27 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, April 28 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Carl Sandburg College, Park in Lot C; meet in Room C209
  2400 Tom L. Wilson Blvd., Galesburg, IL 61401

 

 

BRC-Galesburg  Class is full. 

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.  

 
Item: MOTORBRC286106  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, May 3 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, May 4 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, May 5 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Carl Sandburg College, Park in Lot C; meet in Room C209
  2400 Tom L. Wilson Blvd., Galesburg, IL 61401
 

BRC-Galesburg
2 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC286107  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, May 10 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, May 11 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, May 12 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Carl Sandburg College, Park in Lot C; meet in Room C209
  2400 Tom L. Wilson Blvd., Galesburg, IL 61401
 

BRC-Galesburg
9 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC286108  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, May 17 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, May 18 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, May 19 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Carl Sandburg College, Park in Lot C; meet in Room C209
  2400 Tom L. Wilson Blvd., Galesburg, IL 61401
 

BRC-Galesburg
8 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC286109  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, May 24 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday May 25 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, May 26 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Carl Sandburg College, Park in Lot C; meet in Room C209
  2400 Tom L. Wilson Blvd., Galesburg, IL 61401
 

BRC-Galesburg
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC286110  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, August 16 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, August 17 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, August 18 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Carl Sandburg College, Park in Lot C; meet in Room C209
  2400 Tom L. Wilson Blvd., Galesburg, IL 61401
 

BRC-Galesburg
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC286111  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, August 23 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, August 24 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, August 25 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Carl Sandburg College, Park in Lot C; meet in Room C209
  2400 Tom L. Wilson Blvd., Galesburg, IL 61401
 

BRC-Galesburg
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC286112  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, August 30 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, August 31 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, September 1 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Carl Sandburg College, Park in Lot C; meet in Room C209
  2400 Tom L. Wilson Blvd., Galesburg, IL 61401
 

BRC-Galesburg
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC286113  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, September 6 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, September 7 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, September 8 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Carl Sandburg College, Park in Lot C; meet in Room C209
  2400 Tom L. Wilson Blvd., Galesburg, IL 61401
 

BRC-Galesburg
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC286114  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, September 13 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, September 14 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, September 15 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Carl Sandburg College, Park in Lot C; meet in Room C209
  2400 Tom L. Wilson Blvd., Galesburg, IL 61401
 

BRC-Galesburg
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC286115  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, September 20 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday, September 21 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, September 22 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Carl Sandburg College, Park in Lot C; meet in Room C209
  2400 Tom L. Wilson Blvd., Galesburg, IL 61401
 

BRC-Galesburg
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC286116  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, September 27 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday, September 28 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, September 29 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Carl Sandburg College, Park in Lot C; meet in Room C209
  2400 Tom L. Wilson Blvd., Galesburg, IL 61401
 

BRC-Galesburg
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC286118  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, October 11 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, October 12 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, October 13 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Carl Sandburg College, Park in Lot C; meet in Room C209
  2400 Tom L. Wilson Blvd., Galesburg, IL 61401
 

BRC-Galesburg
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC286119  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, October 18 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, October 19 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, October 20 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Carl Sandburg College, Park in Lot C; meet in Room C209
  2400 Tom L. Wilson Blvd., Galesburg, IL 61401
 

BRC-Galesburg
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC286120  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, October 25 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, October 26 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, October 27 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Carl Sandburg College, Park in Lot C; meet in Room C209
  2400 Tom L. Wilson Blvd., Galesburg, IL 61401