Sign In   |   View Cart   |     |   Help
 
Print Course information
E-mail to a friend
Return to Course Catalog

Workshops > Basic Rider Course (BRC)

BRC-University Park  

What is the Basic Rider Course (BRC)?
This 20-hour program includes both classroom and "hands-on" instruction. It is designed to teach the fundamental skills of straight-line riding, shifting, turning, and stopping, then works toward developing more complex street skills including essential braking, turning and swerving techniques. It also focuses on developing good mental strategies and managing special situations. The motorcycles, helmets, and textbooks are provided for each student's use.

Who is eligible to enroll in the BRC?
Illinois residents who are at least 16 years of age (on the first day of their course) are eligible to enroll if they have a valid driver's license or instruction permit. The ability to balance and ride a bicycle is expected. Persons under 18 years of age must bring a parent or guardian to sign a participation waiver 20 minutes prior to the class starting time.

Required Motorcycle Gear
Students must bring the following required gear to the first meeting; a long-sleeved shirt or jacket, long pants (heavy material with straight legs), sturdy over-the-ankle footwear (not cloth or canvas), full-fingered gloves and eye protection (glasses, goggles or face shield).

Licensing
Upon successful completion of the Basic Rider Course, a completion card will be issued that will allow the Illinois Secretary of State driver's license examiner to waive the written and the riding portion of the motorcycle license test for all graduates who are 18 years of age or older. Persons who are 16 or 17 years of age must complete this course and take the Secretary of State's written and riding tests to be eligible for a class "M" motorcycle endorsement.

Questions? Check our FAQ

Class Location
Governors State University
1 University Parkway
University Park, IL 60480

Click here for directions.

 

BRC-University Park  Class is full. 

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.  

 
Item: MOTORBRC387366  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, June 21 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 22 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, June 23 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park  Class is full. 

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.  

 
Item: MOTORBRC387368  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, June 28 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 29 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, June 30 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park  Class is full. 

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.  

 
Item: MOTORBRC387369  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, June 28 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 29 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, June 30 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, TBD
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park  Class is full. 

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.  

 
Item: MOTORBRC387325  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, July 5 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday July 6 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, July 7 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park  Class is full. 

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.  

 
Item: MOTORBRC387327  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, July 12 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday July 13 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, July 14 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park  Class is full. 

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.  

 
Item: MOTORBRC387329  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, July 19 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday July 20 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, July 21 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park  Class is full. 

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.  

 
Item: MOTORBRC387331  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, July 26 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday July 27 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, July 28 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park
7 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC387333  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, August 2 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday August 3 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, August 4 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park
8 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC387335  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, August 9 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday August 10 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, August 11 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park
10 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC387337  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, August 16 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday August 17 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, August 18 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park
10 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC387339  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, August 23 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday August 24 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, August 25 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park
11 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC387341  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, August 30 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday August 31 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, September 1 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park
9 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC387343  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, September 6 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday September 7 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, September 8 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC387345  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, September 13 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday September 14 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, September 15 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC387347  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, September 20 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday September 21 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, September 22 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC387349  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, September 27 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday September 28 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, September 29 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC387351  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, October 4 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday October 5 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, October 6 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC387353  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, October 11 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday October 12 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, October 13 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC387355  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, October 18 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday October 19 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, October 20 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484
 

BRC-University Park
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC387357  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, October 25 from 6:00 - 10:00 pm
Saturday October 26 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, October 27 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Governors State University, E2526
  1 University Pkwy, University Park, IL 60484