Sign In   |   View Cart   |     |   Help
 
Print Course information
E-mail to a friend
Return to Course Catalog

Workshops > Basic Rider Course (BRC)

BRC-LaSalle  

What is the Basic Rider Course (BRC)?
This 20-hour program includes both classroom and "hands-on" instruction. It is designed to teach the fundamental skills of straight-line riding, shifting, turning, and stopping, then works toward developing more complex street skills including essential braking, turning and swerving techniques. It also focuses on developing good mental strategies and managing special situations. The motorcycles, helmets, and textbooks are provided for each student's use.

Who is eligible to enroll in the BRC?
Illinois residents who are at least 16 years of age (on the first day of their course) are eligible to enroll if they have a valid driver's license or instruction permit. The ability to balance and ride a bicycle is expected. Persons under 18 years of age must bring a parent or guardian to sign a participation waiver 20 minutes prior to the class starting time.

Required Motorcycle Gear
Students must bring the following required gear to the first meeting; a long-sleeved shirt or jacket, long pants (heavy material with straight legs), sturdy over-the-ankle footwear (not cloth or canvas), full-fingered gloves and eye protection (glasses, goggles or face shield).

Licensing
Upon successful completion of the Basic Rider Course, a completion card will be issued that will allow the Illinois Secretary of State driver's license examiner to waive the written and the riding portion of the motorcycle license test for all graduates who are 18 years of age or older. Persons who are 16 or 17 years of age must complete this course and take the Secretary of State's written and riding tests to be eligible for a class "M" motorcycle endorsement.

Questions? Check our FAQ

Class Location
JC Whitney/US Auto Parts
761 Progress Parkway
LaSalle, IL 61301

Park in the parking lot at the back of main building.
Meet at the large container at the rear of the building.

Click here for directions.

 

BRC-LaSalle  Class is full. 

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.  

 
Item: MOTORBRC686609  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, May 8 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, May 11 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, May 12 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle  Class is full. 

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.  

 
Item: MOTORBRC686610  
  Class meeting times:
Thursday, May 9 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, May 11 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, May 12 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Please meet at large container at rear of bldg.
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle  Class is full. 

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.  

 
Item: MOTORBRC686611  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, May 15 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, May 18 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, May 19 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle  Class is full. 

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.  

 
Item: MOTORBRC686612  
  Class meeting times:
Thursday, May 16 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, May 18 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, May 19 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Please meet at large container at rear of bldg.
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle  Class is full. 

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.  

 
Item: MOTORBRC686615  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, May 29 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 1 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, June 2 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle  Class is full. 

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.  

 
Item: MOTORBRC686616  
  Class meeting times:
Thursday, May 30 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 1 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, June 2 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Please meet at large container at rear of bldg.
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
7 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686617  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, June 5 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 8 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, June 9 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
10 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686618  
  Class meeting times:
Thursday, June 6 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 8 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, June 9 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Please meet at large container at rear of bldg.
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686619  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, June 12 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 15 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, June 16 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686620  
  Class meeting times:
Thursday, June 13 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 15 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, June 16 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Please meet at large container at rear of bldg.
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686621  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, June 19 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 22 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, June 23 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
11 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686623  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, June 26 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 29 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, June 30 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686624  
  Class meeting times:
Thursday, June 27 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 29 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, June 30 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Please meet at large container at rear of bldg.
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
11 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686625  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, July 3 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, July 6 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, July 7 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686626  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, July 10 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, July 13 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, July 14 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686627  
  Class meeting times:
Thursday, July 11 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, July 13 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, July 14 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Please meet at large container at rear of bldg.
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686628  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, July 17 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, July 20 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, July 21 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686629  
  Class meeting times:
Thursday, July 18 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, July 20 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, July 21 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Please meet at large container at rear of bldg.
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686630  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, July 24 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, July 27 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, July 28 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686632  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, July 31 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, August 3 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, August 4 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686634  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, August 7 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, August 10 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, August 11 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686636  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, August 14 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, August 17 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, August 18 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686637  
  Class meeting times:
Thursday, August 15 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, August 17 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, August 18 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Please meet at large container at rear of bldg.
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686638  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, August 21 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, August 24 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, August 25 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686639  
  Class meeting times:
Thursday, August 22 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, August 24 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, August 25 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Please meet at large container at rear of bldg.
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686640  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, August 28 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, August 31 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, September 1 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686642  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, September 4 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, September 7 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, September 8 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686644  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, September 11 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, September 14 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, September 15 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686645  
  Class meeting times:
Thursday, September 12 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, September 14 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, September 15 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Please meet at large container at rear of bldg.
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686646  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, September 18 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, September 21 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, September 22 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686647  
  Class meeting times:
Thursday, September 19 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, September 21 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, September 22 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Please meet at large container at rear of bldg.
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686648  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, September 25 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, September 28 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, September 29 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686649  
  Class meeting times:
Thursday, September 26 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, September 28 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, September 29 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Please meet at large container at rear of bldg.
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686650  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, October 2 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, October 5 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, October 6 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686651  
  Class meeting times:
Thursday, October 3 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, October 5 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, October 6 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Please meet at large container at rear of bldg.
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686652  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, October 9 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, October 12 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, October 13 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686654  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, October 16 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, October 19 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, October 20 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686655  
  Class meeting times:
Thursday, October 17 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, October 19 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, October 20 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Please meet at large container at rear of bldg.
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686656  
  Class meeting times:
Wednesday, October 23 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, October 26 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm and
Sunday, October 27 from 7:00 am - 4:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Meet at large container at rear of building
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301
 

BRC-LaSalle
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC686657  
  Class meeting times:
Thursday, October 24 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, October 26 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm and
Sunday, October 27 from 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: JC Whitney US Auto Parts, Please meet at large container at rear of bldg.
  761 Progress Parkway LaSalle, IL 61301