Sign In   |   View Cart   |     |   Help
 
Print Course information
E-mail to a friend
Return to Course Catalog

Workshops > Basic Rider Course (BRC)

BRC-Pontiac  

What is the Basic Rider Course (BRC)?
This 20-hour program includes both classroom and "hands-on" instruction. It is designed to teach the fundamental skills of straight-line riding, shifting, turning, and stopping, then works toward developing more complex street skills including essential braking, turning and swerving techniques. It also focuses on developing good mental strategies and managing special situations. The motorcycles, helmets, and textbooks are provided for each student's use.

Who is eligible to enroll in the BRC?
Illinois residents who are at least 16 years of age (on the first day of their course) are eligible to enroll if they have a valid driver's license or instruction permit. The ability to balance and ride a bicycle is expected. Persons under 18 years of age must bring a parent or guardian to sign a participation waiver 20 minutes prior to the class starting time.

Required Motorcycle Gear
Students must bring the following required gear to the first meeting; a long-sleeved shirt or jacket, long pants (heavy material with straight legs), sturdy over-the-ankle footwear (not cloth or canvas), full-fingered gloves and eye protection (glasses, goggles or face shield).

Licensing
Upon successful completion of the Basic Rider Course, a completion card will be issued that will allow the Illinois Secretary of State driver's license examiner to waive the written and the riding portion of the motorcycle license test for all graduates who are 18 years of age or older. Persons who are 16 or 17 years of age must complete this course and take the Secretary of State's written and riding tests to be eligible for a class "M" motorcycle endorsement.

Questions? Check our FAQ

Class Location
Pontiac Caterpillar Plant
Pontiac Public Safety Complex
413 N. Mill St.
Pontiac, IL 61764

Click here for directions.

THE FIRST SESSION DOES NOT MEET AT THE CATERPILLAR PARKING LOT
Report to the Public Safety Building and wait outside for the instructors to check you in.

 

BRC-Pontiac   Registrations are no longer being accepted for this section.

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.

 
Item: MOTORBRC986906  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, April 26 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, April 27 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, April 28 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629

 

 

BRC-Pontiac  Class is full. 

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.  

 
Item: MOTORBRC986907  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, May 3 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, May 4 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, May 5 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac  Class is full. 

Any unclaimed seats at class start time will be available for walk-ins.  Please arrive 20 minutes before class start time.  

 
Item: MOTORBRC986909  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, May 17 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, May 18 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, May 19 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
9 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986910  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, May 24 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, May 25 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, May 26 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
11 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986911  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, May 31 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 1 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, June 2 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
8 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986912  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, June 7 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 8 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, June 9 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986913  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, June 14 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 15 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, June 16 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986914  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, June 21 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 22 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, June 23 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC968915  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, June 28 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, June 29 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, June 30 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986916  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, July 5 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, July 6 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, July 7 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986917  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, July 12 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, July 13 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, July 14 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986918  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, July 19 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, July 20 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, July 21 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986919  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, July 26 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, July 27 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, July 28 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986920  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, August 2 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, August 3 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, August 4 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986921  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, August 9 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, August 10 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, August 11 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986922  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, August 16 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, August 17 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, August 18 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986923  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, August 23 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, August 24 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, August 25 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986924  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, August 30 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, August 31 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, September 1 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986925  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, September 6 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, September 7 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, September 8 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986926  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, September 13 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, September 14 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, September 15 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629
 

BRC-Pontiac
12 Open Seats
Item: MOTORBRC986929  
  Class meeting times:
Friday, October 4 from 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday, October 5 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm and
Sunday, October 6 from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
   
  Fee: $20.00
   
  Location: Pontiac Caterpillar Plant, Wait outside Public Safety Building for instructor
  Pontiac Public Safety Complex, 413 N. Mill St., Pontiac, IL 61629